Posted on

Snuggling Up Under The Covers [Part II]

feist-simone.JPG

Sealion – Feist

Original: See-Line Woman – Nina Simone

Nina Simone is one of my heroes. She was a strong, creative, eccentric woman. I hadn’t heard her verson of this song before listening to Feist’s. I thought The Reminder was a pretty good album and I distinctly remember hearing that song and thinking, ‘Feist is a really good songwriter.” Now, I can give credit where credit is absolutely due. Once again Nina Simone writes a great song and Feist does an excellent job covering it. I love her vocals near the end where her falsetto gets really sparce and almost has a whistling tone to it. Both versions are quality.

delta-5-shok.JPG

Mind Your Own Business – Le Shok

Original: Mind Your Own Business – Delta 5

I like Le Shok and I can’t put my finger on what makes them appealing to me. For those who aren’t familiar with them, Le Shok was a new-wave punk group from Long Beach and only released one album before they disbanded in 2001. They make these short bursts of songs [think Minutemen or The Locust] that are typically less than two minutes. To put that into perspective, their full-length, 13-track album is less than fifteen minutes total.

Their cover of Delta 5’s “Mind Your Own Business” was a huge surprise to me considering that this group is relatively unknown. They were only around for about two years in Leeds, England around the same time big names like Wire and Gang of Four were garnering most of the attention. They had a few singles and released an album called See The Whirl before breaking up. In 2006, Kill Rock Stars released a compilation album of their singles and sessions.

beckdrake.JPG

Pink Moon – Beck 

Original: Pink Moon – Nick Drake

Beck is strange and geeky. I like that. I remember finding Odelay on tape in a thriftstore when I was a kid and really liking it, but never paid much attention to him after that until Sea Change [which was a good album to sleep to]. I think the guy makes good music. His cover of Nick Drake’s song is likeable. I really love Nick Drake’s melancholy, haunting voice a lot, so I would never go as far as to say that it’s better. Does anyone remember this song from the Cabrio commercial circa 2000?

About Etta Strange

Writer, obsessive audiophile, secret bedroom DJ, local daydreamer with more books than shelf space. I'm stockpiling for the inevitable drought. Let's collaborate.

Leave a Reply

