Posted on

QUICKIE!: Aesop Rock.

Good things…no, great things happen to me all the time. Wonderful, amazingly divine things. So, when I have a week like the one I’ve been having all I can do is shrug, chalk it up to the swing of things and be glad the pendulum has yet to reach my throat.

 

Daylight – Aesop Rock

For those of you who aren’t familiar with Aesop Rock, I’ll give you the cliffnotes version of his stats: he’s a 31 year old New York native who financed, recorded and released his first two albums in he late 90s. Since then he’s released five more albums and three EPs. He’s also been featured on more tracks than I can count off the top of my head and has produced for other Definitive Jux artists and even a couple on Rhymesayers.

This song of his is from his EP Daylight. This is probably my favorite track of his for both logical and sentimental reasons. I love how the track opens up with the beautiful, silken flutes and then leads into a really simple bassline. The percussion isn’t intrusive. I think it might be have been mixed in under the flute and keyboard/electric piano. The best thing about the entire track is the chorus: “All I ever wanted was to pick apart the day, put the pieces back together my way…”

 

About Etta Strange

Writer, obsessive audiophile, secret bedroom DJ, local daydreamer with more books than shelf space. I'm stockpiling for the inevitable drought. Let's collaborate.

One response to “QUICKIE!: Aesop Rock.

  1. ks ⋅

    Anyone check out the video premiere for “Coffee” on mtvu? I love the the video and Aesop Rock!
    http://www.mtvu.com/music/video_premiere/aesop_rock/

Leave a Reply

