Posted on

Nigerian Music Via L.A.?

A day later and that Love Unlimited is still on repeat. I sat with someone and listened to it with them. I was pleased to see their look of complete satisfaction at the end of all six tracks. Like a meal with desert.  

Anyway, I’ve been trying to expand my catalogue recently and thought it might be interesting to leave the continent for some new sounds. I came across an album by a band called Afrobeat Down called Lamp of the Body and figured I would give it a try. A little bit of research revealed that the 10-15 piece instrumental band is actually still in my state. So much for expansion, yeah? That’s what I thought.

 

Lamp of the Body – Afrobeat Down

Gentlemen – Afrobeat Down

The Los Angeles based band is actually trying to make music from another era as well as another continent. They say they are striving to keep the tradition and legacy of the late, great Fela Kuti alive through their music. What that translates into is an ensemble making music with polyrhythmic percussion and thick layered melodies. To catagorize this music as funk is probably accurate but it’s international funk, African music from Nigeria circa 1970.

There’s not too much I can say: if you like Fela, you’ll like this. Listen to “Gentlemen.”

About Etta Strange

Writer, obsessive audiophile, secret bedroom DJ, local daydreamer with more books than shelf space. I'm stockpiling for the inevitable drought. Let's collaborate.

Leave a Reply

