Posted on

Strange Days.

My sister would probably laugh if she knew I couldn’t stop listening to a Buju Banton song considering she was around during the budding of my music obsession. I won’t go into details, but I was a cheesy kid.

I was sitting listening to music and thinking about my day. Music follows me wherever I go. Well, maybe it’s the other way around. The bookstore I work at is behind a jazz cafe and on Sunday afternoons and on countless random evenings, there’s live music that fills the store by default.

Today I was standing on a stool to reach the higher shelves and I could feel the bass coming out through my calves. My brain started whirring and ticking, it was recognizing a melody. Then it clicked: “People Make the World Go ‘Round” by the Stylistics. I was overjoyed for a moment.  I wish I could have been in there.

I’ve been getting disinterested in my music collection. Trying to branch out and find things that really speak to me is slow and time-consuming. Now that I have less time for that, I’ve really been searching the annals of my memory to bring up some old songs that I loved when I was younger and didn’t even have the mental access to the words that would help me articulate how and why it moved me so. All I knew was that it made some kind of innate sense to me. Now I can understand that I love the sound of horns, the crack of percussion and favor certain chord progressions and song arrangements more than others.

Because music starts my day, I usually go with the first whim I have. For the last few mornings, I have been surprising myself with the songs that have popped into my head. It’s like some weird sonic nostalgia feedback.

 Hollywood Swinging – Kool and the Gang

 

I’m Coming Out – Diana Ross

I’d nominate this song for top ten best song intros of all time. Love the percussion and guitar.

About Etta Strange

Writer, obsessive audiophile, secret bedroom DJ, local daydreamer with more books than shelf space. I'm stockpiling for the inevitable drought. Let's collaborate.

Leave a Reply

