Posted on

Duped By Diplo, Blissful With Blackalicious.

Who doesn’t love Diplo? Some people might not know who he is or some people might be entirely apathetic about the guy, but I really like the guy. Between his remixes, mashups and mixtapes and the acts that he is associated with, I feel pretty comfortable standing behind him as an artist and music maker. I’ve never seen the guy DJ live, so I thought spending a relatively large sum of money I didn’t really have to go see him in San Francisco for New Year’s would be the perfect way to ensure I started the New Year broke and happy.

 …

I just want to officially go on record for those who might google the guy’s name and some other choice keywords and say that HE RUINED MY NEW YEAR’S. I was with three other people and we pretty much walked out on the guy. I tried to hang but as soon as he started playing a Crystal Waters track, I knew it was time to go.

Pen and Pad – Blackalicious

World of Vibrations – Blackalicious

A week or so before that I went to the Filmore to see Blackalicious. I am a pretty casual fan of his. I got his album The Craft by chance and it got average play. I guess like any good artist or entertainer, an inanimate recording of their music is no comparison to their live performances. He really did a good job and even though I had to leave before he was finished I thoroughly enjoyed myself. His band was practiced and lively, his background singers were energetic and enthusiastic. It was a pretty good show.

About Etta Strange

Writer, obsessive audiophile, secret bedroom DJ, local daydreamer with more books than shelf space. I'm stockpiling for the inevitable drought. Let's collaborate.

2 responses to “Duped By Diplo, Blissful With Blackalicious.

  1. nextthing

    Wow sorry to hear that. I’m not real familiar w/ dude but i did hear a remix or mashup or something I liked. I think u would dig my wife’s blog. Your is very cool. Feel u on Waxpoetics too..
    Check her out
    Peace
    http://smilesdavis.wordpress.com/

  2. smilesdavis ⋅

    I am familiar with diplo. I luved the remix album he did for MIA. The thing is though, about 90% of DJs (good or bad) are wack to see live. There is a very select few that are kool live (for me Jazzy Jeff, Furious Five’s DJ Grandmaster Flash- of course there are others) And I’m a DJ. I don’t think all DJs should be put in the furthest, darkest corner of a joint, but most of ’em don’t need to be spotlighted, front and center.

Leave a Reply

