Posted on

In the Name of Love.

Lately the weather’s been persistant in its dreariness and consistant in its intensity. I’ve been seeing a lot of umbrellas being blown inside out and people trying to see through the droplets collecting on the lenses of their glasses. Today I woke up to blue sky [must fight urge to play Electric Light Orchestra] and felt so new that I had to put on one of the albums I’ve been sitting on until I was in the mood to really enjoy them. I’ve had The Supremes’ album The #1s for a couple weeks now. I put it on before I went to work and was stunned when I realized I had actually started snapping.

I Hear A Symphony – The Supremes

Reflections – The Supremes

I know there are lots of politics that preceed the trio, but I only care about the the cotton candy bubblegum soul, really. I mean, before they were famous they were singing backup vocals and doing handclaps for Marvin Gaye. How cute is that?

“I Hear a Symphony” came out in 1965 and was followed by “Reflections” in 1967. Whoever compiled these tracks either didn’t do any research or just needed to fulfill a requirement because “Reflections” never actually made it to #1. The best thing about the first song is the background vocals. It’s in the perfect pitch and timbre. They remind me of Isaac Hayes or Aretha Franklin’s background vocalists.  I love everything about the second song. The pace is nice. The best thing is the tambourine and that electric organ. When’s the last time you heard that one?

About Etta Strange

Writer, obsessive audiophile, secret bedroom DJ, local daydreamer with more books than shelf space. I'm stockpiling for the inevitable drought. Let's collaborate.

Leave a Reply

