Posted on

The Chronicles of Bookstore Kid.

Some strange, oddly informed kid has befriended me at my job and comes in to ramble on endlessly about three things and three things only: death metal, soul and funk. I’ve never actually sat down and listened to death metal because my ears aren’t tuned to appreciate it but, as a confident bass player and avid listener of all three genres, Bookstore Kid insists that they all intersect sonically. I don’t know how I feel about that statement, but I think a mixtape is pending so I will do some investigation later.

For now here are two songs with great basslines and my most favorite of all: handclaps. Feel free to refer back to the Bootsy Collins.

 

Freddie’s Dead – Curtis Mayfield

Hey Pock A-Away – The Meters*

 

PS:

TRUTH & SOUL makes my heart go pitter-pat, but that Timothy McNealy 45 being sold out is unforgiveable. Go listen to “I’m So Glad You’re Mine” on their MySpace and buy some El Michels Affairs songs.

And lastly, here’s a fuzzy, gauzy track for my fellow insomniacs: Mad Lucas – The Breeders

*More Meters tracks.

About Etta Strange

Writer, obsessive audiophile, secret bedroom DJ, local daydreamer with more books than shelf space. I'm stockpiling for the inevitable drought. Let's collaborate.

Leave a Reply

