Posted on

Still In Love.

I don’t intend to get married. It’s something I can only narrowly see myself doing. However, that hasn’t stopped me from daydreaming and drooling about a wedding reception playlist. A few days someone told me about their “painful” experience at metal wedding reception where the first dance was some cookie monster growl-fest. My rudeboy joked about having Tim McGraw’s “I’m Amazed By You” as the first dance at his reception. My response? Barry White’s “Can’t Get Enough of Your Love, Babe.” Clearly, I intend to jam.

Last night I had to sit down and sew a shirt.  I was going be stuck sitting in the one place using my hands which meant I needed to pick an album to sit down and listen to. It’s been awhile since I’ve given a Barry White album a spin even though I’d vote the man for president even in the grave based on his musical expertise alone [exhibit a, exhibit b].

Let the Music Play – Barry White

Baby, We Better Get It Together – Barry White

Oh, What A Nice For Dancing – Barry White

About 3/4 through the album, I started flirting with the idea of a “Barry White Only” reception. Besides having a pretty central theme of love, sex and passion, I cannot say enough about the composition of his tracks. The instrumentation really showcases his fundamental grasp on the mechanics of music theory and also what has probably always been an innate of what makes sounds feel good going into people’s ears.

I could go on and on, but I won’t. I already have a couple times. I love this man for his use of strings.

About Etta Strange

Writer, obsessive audiophile, secret bedroom DJ, local daydreamer with more books than shelf space. I'm stockpiling for the inevitable drought. Let's collaborate.

Leave a Reply

