Posted on

Herbie Hancock & Santana.

Some time last year [remember?] I got an old Santana record because I liked the album art, but when I sat down to listen to it, I realized that I had been duped. For so many years, I had associated Santana with that string of bad pop duets he attempted to do circa 2002 with dunces like Michelle Branch, the guy from Matchbox 20 and Seal. But this album was dynamic, intricate and exciting. Months and months later I saw him at the end of The Ike and Tina Revue [refresh your memory] looking dynamic and exciting and I decided I needed to do more investigation.

Lately, I feel like I am being followed around by Herbie Hancock’s Headhunters album after playing it down in the basement. I met a man who told me about going to school with Herbie Hancock and working in the dining hall where Hancock played the piano. People have been asking me about that album specifically. The track “Watermelon Man” keeps appearing randomly.

Earlier today I happened upon this great video of both Herbie Hancock and Santana being dynamic, intricate and exciting and I felt like sharing. Between these videos and the last one, who knew Japan was so hip?

The Hancock/Santana Special Band [Part I]

[link]

The Hancock/Santana Special Band [Part II]

[link]

About Etta Strange

Writer, obsessive audiophile, secret bedroom DJ, local daydreamer with more books than shelf space. I'm stockpiling for the inevitable drought. Let's collaborate.

Leave a Reply

